Ruth's Genealogy

“I don't know who my grandfather was; I am much more concerned to know what his grandson will be.” -Abraham Lincoln

Last week, I posted about TiddlySpace, which is TiddlyWiki (a great research tool) in the cloud.

A couple of days later, one of the architects of TiddlySpace left this comment:

Thanks for the comments about TiddlySpace, much appreciated (coolest name, indeed! Not the usual reaction). You might be interested in this family tree app template created by @rakugojon here at Osmosoft:

http://familytree.tiddlyspace.com/

As you can see it makes it easy to set up a new genealogy space, and guides you through the process.

This family tree app is an interesting concept. Basically, each person is connected to his/her family members through tiddlers. I like the idea, but I can’t imagine having to add one person at a time and do all this manually. There seems to be no way to upload a .ged file. Still, I really like the general idea… seems to be a possible alternative to the hallowed GEDCOM…

An example:

“MilesFrancisStanleyII, born 1915, son of JohnThomasStanley and MarieMistrotCarrico, married CharleyBelleRogers in 1934….”

The names of my ancestors are written as tiddlers, so they will link to each other in TiddlySpace. As things stand, it would be an enormous amount of work to enter each person and their data manually… but I still think it a reallyneatidea!

2 thoughts on “Hand in Hand: A TiddlyComment

  1. Hello again Ruth!
    I managed to get a basic GEDCOM importer up and running and I’ve made it available on the frontpage of the family tree TiddlyWiki app template. It won’t import everything but should import dates / family connections.

    I’ve only been able to test on a small set of data so feel free to give it a spin and let me know how you get on. I’d love to get some feedback from someone with such an interest in the field as you do!

    Will continue to improve it as I get the time.

    All the best
    Jon

    Like

  2. Hi! I’m Jon who made the family tree TiddlyWiki app!

    The GEDCOM thing has been something on my to do list for agggeeeesss. This was my main motivation for developing the application as I was previously using genes reunited and felt I was locking my data into a website where I couldn’t get it back. I just never got round to it… Your interest has inspired me to have another look! TiddlySpace allows you to get at your data in multiple ways via its api such as http://robsontree.tiddlyspace.com/tiddlers.txt (a list of all names in my tree)
    http://robsontree.tiddlyspace.com/tiddlers?select=father:Andrew%20Lyall%20Robson (all people in the tree with Andrew Lyall Robson as a father)

    My entire tree can be visited here – if you click on the wiki you will see it’s quite big (and thus slow to load) but gives you an idea of what the possibilities are and how it makes exploring family trees (in my opinion) much more easier.
    http://robsontree.tiddlyspace.com/

    Like

Comments are closed.