Ruth's Genealogy

“I don't know who my grandfather was; I am much more concerned to know what his grandson will be.” -Abraham Lincoln

Flip-Pal ScannerA couple of weeks ago, I posted about problems I was having with my new Flip-Pal Scanner. I had been reading about this little jewel all around the genea-sphere, so I finally bought myself one for my birthday!

A few days went by before I finally had time to try it out… and almost immediately ran into problems.

I found it more difficult to use than was publicized and the end-product just wasn’t what I was expecting.

But help was just around the corner, and from an unexpected source!

Later that day, I got an email from Diana Thompson with Flip-Pal’s Customer Support Team. She had read my post and was offering to help. I returned her email with more specifics of the problems I was having.

It turns out that Flip-Pal‘s software needed to be updated. Simple as that! Diana walked me through the upgrade process and requested that I send her the “problem” images that I had obtained in my first scanning attempts so that Flip-Pal could evaluate them.

The Hill County marriage certificate that I rescanned stitched together perfectly after the software upgrade, and it only took about 5 minutes to complete the job!

I was already impressed with Flip-Pal’s scanning abilities and the implications for my genealogical research, and now even more so with the people behind the Flip-Pal. A win-win combination!