Ruth's Genealogy

“I don't know who my grandfather was; I am much more concerned to know what his grandson will be.” -Abraham Lincoln

I have neglected my Ruth’s Genealogy WordPress blog, Twitter and Facebook pages for too long. So I have spent the past couple of days updating and polishing and rearranging… Spring Cleaning, I guess!

I’ve also been thinking about where to put my database online. Genealogy is about sharing, so it you keep it all to yourself, what’s the point, ya know?

After much investigation and head-scratching, I have decided to use Ancestry.com’s Member Trees. It’s free and well-maintained tech-wise, and seems like the best way to both display and backup my database and it will also act as cousin-bait. It is currently set to private, but that’s because I still have some cleanup to do. If there is something specific you are looking for, please feel free to contact me.

As for my images, I’m staying at Flickr for them. 1 TB free storage can’t be beat! Currently, I have 1057 images uploaded and have used 0.0% of that 1 TB…

So, to sum all this up:

Notice a trend here? The above set-up leaves more money for RESEARCH!

