Ruth's Genealogy

“I don't know who my grandfather was; I am much more concerned to know what his grandson will be.” -Abraham Lincoln

red buttonGenealogy Do-Over

the 2015 educational initiative at GeneaBloggers – where you do get to go home again . . .

and start over with your genealogy research.

***

Week 3’s assignments:

  • Tracking Research
  • Conducting Research

This has been a busy week!

Tracking research

Let’s see, using Thomas’ Original Research Log, I sorted through the 217 images (photographs and documents) that I have scanned that pertain to my life. I selected 46 that best prove my life events, such as birth, marriage, school, college, voter registration and religion. These 46 I then entered in the Research Log.

This was a tedious process, as I don’t type very quickly. But I finally got everything added.

Conducting Research

My next step was to go to the To Do List in the Research Log and create a list of what I still needed to prove. Included here is the necessity of a copy of my marriage license and also a copy of my divorce decree. Many years ago, long before I got into genealogy and long after my marriage was over, I threw these documents away (DUMB!). At the time, I saw no need to keep them.

On the side, a couple of things:

As I’ve stated, I don’t type very quickly. I never took a typing class in school, never saw a need for it at the time (AND DUMBER!). So, yesterday, as I was running errands, I stopped by HalfPrice Books. In their close-out area, I found a keyboarding textbook and bought it for $1. Now I have started to “officially” learn to keyboard!

I also found a book with Excel tips and tricks, also bought it for $1.

So, in my spare time, I’m learning to type and also how to use Excel.

P. S. A Facebook post by one of  the Do-Over participants (Thanks Sheri Ownbey McNary!) pointed to a YouTube video that shows how to change the default Excel date format to a genealogy date format. It was very easy to do!

 

