Ruth's Genealogy

“I don't know who my grandfather was; I am much more concerned to know what his grandson will be.” -Abraham Lincoln

red buttonGenealogy Do-Over

the 2015 educational initiative at GeneaBloggers – where you do get to go home again . . .

and start over with your genealogy research.

***

In review, this first week’s topics:

Setting Previous Research Aside– While I haven’t physically moved any data, I have committed to use only original or scans of original documents and photographs.

Preparing to Research– I have created a new database in RootsMagic, a new master file on my desktop and a new data-management notebook in Evernote, also backup systems at OneDrive and on an external hard drive. I have also facilitated the use of my Chromebook with my RootsMagic database by creating read-only access to that database through my iPhone and online RootsMagic database.

And finally…

Establishing Base Practices and Guidelines– a new start, a new mindset

  • Focus-treat each ancestor to be researched as the end-all and be-all
  • Think outside of the box- use traditional and not-traditional resources
  • Meticulous- complete each database (Research Plan, Research Log, consistent file names, scan everything and file appropriately, CITATIONS)
  • Passion- relax, don’t rush, have fun!
