Ruth's Genealogy

“I don't know who my grandfather was; I am much more concerned to know what his grandson will be.” -Abraham Lincoln

red buttonGenealogy Do-Over

the 2015 educational initiative at GeneaBloggers – where you do get to go home again . . .

and start over with your genealogy research.

***

Ok, it’s Week 1 of Genealogy Do-Over 2015, and this is what I’ve done so far:

  1. “set aside” all old research notes and my entire RootsMagic database, but keeping handy any original documents and images (as I look at each ancestor, I plan to weed through his/her folders, both real and virtual, and toss everything except photos and original docs)
  2. created a new database in RootsMagic, appropriately named Do-Over 2015
  3. created a new master file on my desktop, also named Do-Over 2015
  4. set up a new stack in Evernote for research notes and collected images, and its name is…
  5. also created new folders in OneDrive and my external hard drive for backup
  6. restored the RootsMagic app to my iPhone with an updated GEDCOM
  7. updated my My.Rootsmagic.com site with a current GEDCOM

blue notebook and pencilWait! One more thing…

A fresh, original, made from real trees college ruled spiral notebook with freshly sharpened pencil, for head-scratching, brainstorming and genea-doodling! All this modern technology is wonderful, but sometimes you just gotta have a good ole’ pencil and paper!

 

