Ruth's Genealogy

“I don't know who my grandfather was; I am much more concerned to know what his grandson will be.” -Abraham Lincoln

red buttonGenealogy Do-Over

the 2015 educational initiative at GeneaBloggers – where you do get to go home again . . .

and start over with your genealogy research.

***

I bought a Chromebook about a year ago and instantly fell in love!

It is very light-weight, lightning fast, doesn’t get bugs, has good battery life and is simply a joy to use.

But…. it won’t run RootsMagic.

Now in the past few months, I have debated what to do about this problem. I want to be able to work on my RootsMagic genealogy database with my Chromebook, which I can and do take anywhere, rather than be stuck to my desktop PC. I have:

  1. uploaded my GEDCOM to WeRelate and used that as my primary database- but I don’t like the way it handles source citations
  2. purchased The Next Generation of Genealogy Sitebuilding and installed in at my website- I really like TNG, yet it seems to have a lot of bugs and doesn’t always work and play well with my RootsMagic-generated GEDCOM
  3. recently signed up at a new site, Famberry, which currently offers 1 TB of free forever storage- haven’t really used this yet

So, what to do?

Well, for the time-being, I have installed the RootsMagic app on my iPhone and uploaded my new Do_Over 2015 GEDCOM to it, and have also created a new website at my My.RootsMagic.com site, again with the new GEDCOM. While both of these are “Read-Only” and cannot be modified, at least I will have my most recent database with me while using my Chromebook at the library or other far-away location (my bedroom!)

I’ll use Evernote for taking notes and saving images, then transfer those to RootMagic when I’m back at the desk. Not terribly happy with this solution, either, but it’ll have to do.

One thought on “Genealogy Do-Over 2015 Week 1: I love my Chromebook, but…

  1. ros77uk says:

    Um, doesn’t a Chromebook have a USB port? (I don’t own one, so I don’t know). Perhaps you could use your RootsMagic-to-Go: put your data on there and run it (and the program) from there?

    Like

Comments are closed.

