Ruth's Genealogy

“I don't know who my grandfather was; I am much more concerned to know what his grandson will be.” -Abraham Lincoln

TexasGenealogyOnPinterestSince 2008, I have been using Diigo to manage my genealogy-related bookmarks. But that all changed a couple of weeks ago when I got an email from Diigo:

…Another problem that we have been struggling for a long time is spam – spammers have been very aggressive and crafty on our site, harassing users and importing junky content. Spammers a re costing us lots of resources not only in hardware, but also in manpower as we spent time developing anti-spam techniques and manually policing the site. We have decided to take a different approach to this problem by limiting the social privileges of free users. We now require captcha on many social features, such as following people, joining groups, etc. For a very nominal fee, you can upgrade yourself to “Social Membership,” which would grant you full social features without capcha, plus a lot of other goodies. We expect to stop the vast majority of the spammers with this simple measure.
We’d like to elaborate more about Social Membership and its pricing and our thoughts behind the decisions. As long-time Diigo users know, Diigo is a personal knowledge management tool on the one hand, and a knowledge-sharing community on the other hand. While it is perfectly fine to use Diigo s olely as the former, we do believe that the value of the knowledge-sharing community could be substantial, as the number of active users increases, and as the spam is minimized. As a result, we have decided to set the social membership annual fee at $5/year on Oct 1, 2014, and will increase the price gradually thereafter according to a pre-determined formula, as the number of active social members increases. To reward existing users, an attractive promotion price of $2/year will be available until Oct. 1, 2014. For future years, you will continue to pay the low annual price you paid in the first year, as long as your credit card stay valid for automatic renewal…
The way I read this, Diigo will no longer be a free service. And that’s fine for them. You gotta do what you gotta do to run your business.
I have never been totally happy with Diigo, but it was the best available for the price (free!).
So when I got this email, I decided it was time for a change of address for my favorites.
I have been reading a lot lately about different ways that folks are incorporating Pinterest into their genealogical research. It looks like a great (free!) place to store my genealogy and history-related bookmarks, while making them available to other researchers as well.
As I had several hundred sites saved at Diigo, it took a few days to get everything packed up and moved to Diigo, but last night I completed the job.
Please visit my Pinterest boards and see if there is anything there that you can use. I have created boards for each state used in my research, also for documentation and technology as it relates to family history.
This, of course, is an on-going project, so if you see anything that interests you, feel free to follow that board.
