Ruth's Genealogy

“I don't know who my grandfather was; I am much more concerned to know what his grandson will be.” -Abraham Lincoln

I upgraded to RootsMagic 5 a few weeks ago, and today I had the first occasion to use a new feature called CountyCheck:

CountyCheck

  • Automatically checks every county you enter (US, Canada, UK, Australia) to verify that it actually existed at the time of the event
  • Report gives you a list of all events in counties which didn’t exist at the time
  • Lets you access maps and county histories for the US, Canada, UK, and Australia

As I have been reviewing/researching/updating everyone in my datebase, CountyCheck pops up with each saved fact (if it has a location in it). At first I thought this was a bit annoying, but I decided to leave it active, because I knew sooner or later I’d run into a discrepancy.

That discrepancy just presented itself. The wife of a Bennett 2GGU was born in 1879 in “Cache County, Utah”, according to cemetery records. This I had previously entered into my RootsMagic 4 database. One problem: Utah didn’t become a state until 1896 (which I neglected to check first). So now, RootsMagic 5’s CountyCheck has corrected my earlier entry:

Notice the “Utah Territory”? Pretty neat!